The world is full of amazing buildings. Many of those I have visited only in my dreams. I was going through my old photos and noticed that there was one building that left me out of breath. This building is Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi. Luckily this majestic and architecturally stunning building is also open for women and non muslims.

Before you enter the mosque, keep in mind the following rules:

  • Women should cover everything. Do not show your arms or legs and avoid too tight clothing.
  • Head should be covered with a scarf. You can also borrow an abaya if you left your own at home. I wanted to try their closet and left my driving license as a deposit.
  • The dress code applies also to male population so leave the shorts and sleeveless shirts to the hotel.
  • You can find demonstrative pictures from their web page if you are in doubt how to dress.
  • Mute your phone.
  • Do not bring drinks or food inside.
  • Admire quietly, do not raise your voice.
  • Showing affection to your wife/husband is strictly forbidden.

SZGM 3SZGM 16 SZGM 15SZGM 1There are a lot of tours available from Dubai but we drove to Abu Dhabi with our own car and had a perfect timing since there were hardly any other tourists. You can find a lot of information about the story and architecture from their web page. I also noticed that nowadays you can reserve a guided tour from their webpage.

You probably get more info with a guided tour but I recommend you also take time to admire the mosque just by yourself, in peace and quiet. Personally I was stunned by the world’s largest hand-knotted carpet, beautiful chandeliers and the stunning marble. If you are somewhere nearby, do not miss this place.

SZGM 12 SZGM 5 SZGM 9 SZGM 6 SZGM 11

Leave a comment

Trending